Beginning in 2021, the Massachusetts paid family and medical leave (PFML) law will give employees up to 12 weeks of protected leave with partial wage replacement to bond with a new child, care for a family member with a serious health condition or handle a military exigency. The law will also let employees take up to 20 weeks to address their own serious health conditions and up to 26 weeks to care for a covered servicemember. A cap will limit any employee’s total PFML to 26 weeks in a 52-week period. Employee and any required employer contributions began Oct. 1, 2019.
The Massachusetts Department of Family and Medical Leave (DFML) will administer PFML benefits provided through the state program. However, employers can opt out of participation in the state program by obtaining approval for a private plan that is either self-insured or purchased from an approved insurer. Final PFML regulations and guidance posted on the DFML website and the Department of Revenue website supply information on the law’s implementation.
Download the 15-page print-friendly PDF for a detailed GRIST analyzing the law and regulations on these issues:
In preparing for PFML compliance, Massachusetts employers may want to consider these steps, unless already taken: