结婚是人生中最令人喜悦的事情之一。即便面临着针对新冠病毒的各种社交限制,超过60万对的中国新婚夫妇仍在2020年中国的公共假日国庆节因爱结合1

 

 对于超高净值人士而言,结婚计划应包含对保护家族财富和平衡风险与慷慨和公正的考量,尤其在涉及多个世代的情况下。在本期美仕视野主题中,我们访问了Withers香港家事法律顾问团队的合伙人Rita Ku。 在这里,她为我们分享审视婚前和婚后协议如何有助于在婚前和婚后守护和增加(超高净值)家族的资产。

 

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2020/oct/13/golden-week-wedding-season-boom-in-china-with-600000-couples-tying-knot


婚前,爱情以外的考量:您在起草成功的婚前协议时需要了解的四件事。

 

婚前协议与爱情无关。当您开始谈婚论嫁时,爱情应该早已瓜熟蒂落。婚前协议体现的是站在跨代时间尺度上的智慧和先见之明。

 

为了能从香港居民的角度了解起草成功的跨境婚前协议的繁复细节,我们与Withers香港家事法律顾问团队的合伙人Rita Ku进行了对话。Rita是家庭法领域的专家,亦是超高净值人士财富传承领域的知名权威。

 

Rita说,婚前协议不仅在资产保护战略方面扮演着重要角色,而且当婚姻关系极度紧张时,在界定商讨范围和最小化争议时间方面发挥着关键作用。

 

此外,婚前协议保护所有当事人的权利——没错,婚姻本身是两个人之间的事,但涉及到超高净值人士的婚前协议越来越多地体现出流动效应。世袭财富、多个家庭和家庭利益都会受其影响。当财富世代积累、跨代相传,我们留意到了一个有趣的现象,据传婚前协议时常是在家长挑唆下签订的。”

Rita表示在签订有效的婚前协议方面有四大重要的考虑要素。

 

1.     进行完整的财务披露,以便全面保护您的资产

 

婚前协议是个人协议类别中用于保护资产的最有效的手段。也就是说,一旦离婚,任何未被包含在协议内的资产都更容易成为纷争和商榷的对象。

 

对财富数额进行完整的披露会让人感觉不适,这很正常,是完全可以理解的。一旦婚姻面临解体,不充分的资产披露至好意味着冗长的诉讼程序,至坏则意味着可观的财富损耗。

 

Rita表示,超高净值人士应将完整的资产披露视为保护资产的一个机会,而不是将之视为把自己暴露于威胁之下,尤其是在可以通过婚姻的财务协议对部分(尽管不是全部)资产进行有效的隔离保护的情况下。

 

 

2.    地理位置决定了您的婚前协议是具有约束性还是说服性的

 

您的婚前协议需要反映出您的全球化生活方式,因为婚前协议的适用场合是您婚后绝大部分时间生活的所在地,而非婚姻注册地。

司法差异会令同样一份婚前协议的结果截然不同。以瑞士和中国为例,婚前协议只要严格符合所有法律要求就始终具有约束性,而在香港、巴哈马和新加坡,婚前协议被法院视为仅具有说服性——需要逐案分析。即便是在美国,不同的州法律也各不相同,会导致结果千差万别。

 

具有跨国关系的人士需要咨询他们主要生活所在地的各个司法管辖区内的专业律师。律师会配合他们出具一份可以反映出其生活方式的协议,该文件更有可能获得法律的支持。

在起草协议的过程中,各个司法管辖区内由于离婚诉讼导致的潜在税收问题应被同等严肃地对待。您需要对诸如不同地区与抚养费有关的税收这样的问题进行深入了解,以避免未来因这样的问题感到震惊。

 

3.     在签订婚前协议时,“不正当压力”会在未来引发挑战

 

在签订婚前协议时,若涉及胁迫、非正当影响和不公平行为,可以参考一些不受司法管辖区限制的通用的法规:

 

  • 当处于超常压力时,如孕期,不应签订婚前协议;
  • 协议应该双方在不受约束且知情的情况下签订;双方必须对协议具有充分的了解并自愿遵守;
  • 婚前协议应至少提前四到六周内签订,以避免以过于匆忙或承受压力为由提出法律诉求;
  • 在某些司法管辖区内,法院会不采纳那些被视为“不公平”的协议,所以每个人都应该让其律师帮助确认协议的公平和公正性。

 

4.    单独、独立的法律建议

 

尽管费用很有可能会由财务上更具实力的一方支付,每个人都应该寻求独立的法律建议。

 

双方应就协议的“公平和公正”寻求适用自己的法律建议,以积极避免在仅有一位律师代表双方起草协议时引起的潜在利益冲突。

 

那么婚礼之后呢?Rita强烈建议通过婚后协议进行定期审核,尤其当出现重大变化时。情况出现变化,如高额遗产继承,子女的降生和信托机构不符合常规的资产分配,都足以开展一次审核。Rita将在下一篇文章里深入探究婚后协议。


案例研究:保障全球家庭财富的解决方案

 

一名目前单身的超高净值人士和巨额全球家庭财富的第三代继承人正在寻求包含婚前协议考虑因素的以未来为导向的解决方案。该解决方案需要同时、全面、综合地: 

 

  • 保护这一家庭传承给未来世代的财富 
  • 为其未来的妻子和子女提供丰厚的财产,同时大幅降低任何未来可能出现的诉讼风险 
  • 针对未来继承者的遗产税提供准备金 
  • 在中短期内为他自己在业务和更宽泛的财务决策方面提供持续的灵活性

 

 法律解决方案

 

在审核了委托人的权利、风险敞口和公平对待未来配偶的强烈愿望后,Withers的Rita 向其推荐了一份包含三种特殊信托的婚前协议:

 

1.      一种信托用于对其资产进行隔离保护,这份资产将保留在其族系中,以保护原有的家族财富

 

2.     一种信托**用于积累婚姻资产,同时为其未来的妻子和子女提供优渥的生活方式

 

(**备注:在这方面,信托只是众多选项中的一种。建立信托并不总是个好主意,或真正有利于保护家庭财富。当夫妻双方共同享有所有婚姻资产时,这样做的意义不大。然而,如果财产足够庞大且希望为其后代子孙的利益提供保障,就像本例中的委托人,那可以考虑建立信托。)

 

3.     以及为委托人提供无阻碍地使用其它资产的另一种信托结构^,给予他做出所需的各种财务决策的充分自由

 

(^同样,与上条相同,上述建议专门针对委托人的某个特殊状况。一般来说,如果灵活度是首要考虑因素,信托并不一定是最好的解决方案。)

 

 保险解决方案

 

在考虑了该超高净值人士的情况和需求后,美仕提供的个性化解决方案:

 

  •  一份包含身故赔偿金的终身人寿保单
  • 委托人建立单独的信托
  • 该信托既是保单的持有人也是受益人
  • 根据委托人的愿望,该信托之后会向其妻子和子女分配资产
  • 符合居住地的纳税义务——在本例中为香港
  • 不论公民身份为何,该解决方案都具有可操作性
  • 信托分配可以被用于管理居住地的遗产税

  要点总结:

 

1.      一旦委托人死亡,在保护委托人家庭财富免受业务风险和/或不受婚姻解体的影响的同时,为其妻子和子女提供丰厚的赔付

 

2.     趸缴保费,赔付率从保费的200%(建立保单时)开始增长,90岁时增加到450% 

Young handsome dad and pretty young mom carrying lovely little daughter who is holding a fancy wrapped Christmas gift while all smiling joyfully in front of the Christmas tree in a shopping mall

婚后,当生活出现变化:婚后协议为何对超高净值人士而言至关重要

 

然而,不论婚前协议如何详尽,都难以未卜先知,将长达数十载的家庭生活中所有可能出现的变化悉数囊括在内!Withers香港家事法律顾问团队的合伙人Rita Ku*表示“当我们从那个角度审视问题时,就会发现婚后协议对于超高净值人士而言是不可或缺的,它们能够及时应付在婚姻生活中可能出现且事实上也确实会出现的各种剧烈变动。

 

“除了时间上的不同,婚后协议与婚前协议在有些方面完全相同,比如婚姻双方需要签订正式的协议,以便在婚姻破裂时公平地分配他们的资产和利益^。然而,与婚前协议的一次性签署有所不同的是,可以在婚姻持续阶段的任何时间对婚后协议进行定期评估和更新。

 

Rita表示,“当情况发生显著的变化时,这种审核就变得尤为重要,如子女的出生以及一方配偶收到高额赠与物或遗产。

 

“经验告诉我们,虽然每次审核婚后协议并不总意味着会有变化出现,但这一流程往往会带来积极的结果。

 

“定期评估婚后协议可以帮助夫妻双方开展具有建设性的谈话,并解决婚姻生活中引发分歧的问题,比如财务、资产、子女等等。对婚后协议进行审核能帮助他们了解其财务地位发生的变化,以及很重要的一点,那些变化造成的后果。

 

“定期审核的另一个原因是尽可能减少潜在的庭审时间,如果婚姻关系解除的话,”Rita说。她解释道,“如果能提供更新的协议,往往能令庭审时间缩短,因为它们能更好地反映出实际状况,并因此能具有可执行性。

 

“审核也加强了可执行性,因为每执行一遍这一流程,当事人就需要展示自己持续遵守协议的决心,并能因此获得不止一次地、定期审慎思考其财务地位的机会。”

 

Rita强调有些人的婚姻生活相比其他人的更复杂,并且随着子女的成长,优先事项也在发生变化。她说,“对于二婚、三婚以及更多次的婚姻及多个来自不同配偶的子女,一系列婚后协议对于超高净值人士而言显得格外重要,可以帮助他们战略化地应对复杂性。”

 

美仕与像Rita Ku这样的专家携手合作,帮助超高净值人士及其家庭守护家族未来的繁荣昌盛。联系我们,了解我们如何帮助您制定与婚后协议无缝衔接的正确的年金和保险方案。

 

^请参阅“婚前,爱情以外的考量”章节,以了解起草一份成功的跨境婚前协议需要考虑哪些问题。

 * Rita是家庭法专家和超高净值人士财富传承领域的知名权威。  


如您有任何询问,请联系美仕保险经纪(上海)有限公司顾问:

 

杨迪珂
助理副总裁
美仕保险经纪(上海)有限公司
E: Helen.Yang@mercerpcs.com

Getting married is one of the most joyous events in people’s lives. Even in the midst of the Coronavirus social restrictions, more than 600,000 Chinese couples said “I do” during the Country’s national day public holiday in 20201

 

For ultra-high net worth (UHNW) individuals, marriage planning necessarily includes considerations of preserving family wealth and balancing risks with generosity and fairness, especially if multiple generations might be affected. In this issue of PCS Vision, we have interviewed Ms. Rita Ku, a Partner from Withersworldwide in Hong Kong*. In the interview, she has discussed how pre- and post- nuptial agreements can work to safeguard (UHNW) families’ assets – before and after weddings. 

 

In the case study, PCS by Mercer offers a potential insurance solution in safeguarding generational family capital in the event of a marriage breakdown.

 

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2020/oct/13/golden-week-wedding-season-boom-in-china-with-600000-couples-tying-knot


Before the Wedding and Beyond Romance

 

Four things you need to know when drafting successful cross-border prenuptial agreements.

 

Prenuptial agreements are not about romance. There should be romance aplenty if you are discussing marriage. Prenuptial agreements are about wisdom and foresight on a generational timescale.

 

To understand the intricacies of drafting successful cross-border prenuptial agreements from a Hong Kong resident’s perspective, we have interviewed Ms. Rita Ku, a partner at Withersworldwide in Hong Kong. Ms. Ku says, “Not only do prenuptial agreements play a crucial role in strategically protecting assets, they are also essential in helping to define the domain of discussion and minimize the length of dispute when the relationship is under maximum strain.

 

“Further, prenuptial agreements protect the rights of everyone involved – yes, a marriage is between two people, but increasingly, prenuptial agreements involving UHNW individuals have flow on effects. Dynastic wealth, multiple families and family interests can all be impacted. As wealth accumulates across generations, it’s interesting to note, anecdotally, that prenuptial agreements are at times instigated by the parental generation.

 

According to Ms. Ku, there are four consequential considerations when it comes to effective prenuptials as follows: 

1.       Full financial disclosure, so you can fully protect your assets

 

Prenuptial agreements are most effective at protecting the assets catalogued in individual agreements. That is, any assets outside the agreement are more vulnerable to dispute and negotiations in the event of a divorce.

 

While understandably, it is not unusual for people to feel discomfort in fully disclosing the extent of their wealth. If a marriage breaks down, insufficient disclosure of assets can mean lengthy litigation at best, and significant wealth erosion at worst.  

 

UHNW individuals should view full financial disclosure as an opportunity to protect assets rather than exposing themselves to threats, especially when some (though not all) assets can be very effectively ring-fenced from the financial agreements of a marriage.

 

2.       Geography dictates whether your prenuptial agreement is binding or merely persuasive

 

Your prenuptial agreement needs to reflect your global lifestyle, because prenuptial agreements are enforced in the forum in which you spend the majority of your married life, rather than where the marriage is registered.

 

Jurisdictional differences can produce stark differences in the outcomes of the same prenuptial agreement. In China for example, prenuptial agreements are binding as long as they formally comply with all legal requirements, while in Hong Kong, prenuptial agreements are regarded by courts as persuasive. In some countries, differing state laws can also produce a vast array of outcomes. As such, each case must be reviewed on a case-by-case basis and advised by legal experts from respective jurisdiction.

Internationally connected people need to consult expert lawyers in every jurisdiction in which they are likely to spend significant time. The lawyers can then collaborate and produce an agreement that is reflective of your lifestyle.

In the process of drafting the agreement, the potential tax implications of divorce proceedings in different jurisdictions should be equally seriously considered and regional tax experts need to be consulted.

 

3.       “Illegitimate pressure” when signing a prenuptial agreement can lead to successful challenges in the future

 

These are some general rules apply when it comes to the signing prenuptial agreements:

 

  • Prenuptial agreements should not be signed in times of exceptional pressure, such as during a pregnancy
  • The agreement is entered into by both parties freely and knowingly; both must understand the agreement fully and agree to it voluntarily
  • The prenuptial is signed a minimum of four to six weeks days before the marriage to avoid claims of rush or pressure
  • Each individual should have the agreement confirmed by their solicitor to be as fair and just as it can possibly be

 

4.       Separate, independent legal advice

 

Whilst the fees might be paid by the financially stronger party, each individual should have their own independent legal advice to avoid potential conflicts of interest.

 

And after the wedding? Ms. Ku strongly recommends regular reviews by way of postnuptial agreements, especially when there are significant changes. Change of circumstances, such as significant inheritance, the arrival of children and unusual distribution from trusts should prompt a review. Ms. Ku explores postnuptial agreements in the next article.

 

MPORTANT NOTE

 

* Ms. Ku is a partner in Withersworldwide based in Hong Kong.

 

This interview note is general in nature based on Hong Kong law only and not in any way intended as legal advice. 


Young handsome dad and pretty young mom carrying lovely little daughter who is holding a fancy wrapped Christmas gift while all smiling joyfully in front of the Christmas tree in a shopping mall

After the Wedding, when Life Changes: Why postnuptial agreements are crucial in ultra-high net worth (UHNW) lives

 

Ms. Rita Ku* continued to discuss about –

 

After the Wedding, when Life Changes: Why postnuptial agreements are crucial in ultra-high net worth (UHNW) lives

 

Other than timing, a postnuptial agreement is just like a prenuptial agreement in that the partners enter into a formal arrangement to fairly distribute their assets and interests in the event of a marriage breakdown^. Unlike the one-time nature of prenuptial agreements however, postnuptial agreements can be regularly assessed and updated at any time during the marriage.

 

To gain a more general understanding of postnuptial agreements, we spoke with Rita Ku, family law Partner from Withers worldwide in Hong Kong.*

 

According to Ms. Ku, there should be regular reviews of postnuptial agreements. Ms. Ku says, “A misconception surrounding prenuptial agreements is that they are sufficient for the totality of a marriage, whether the union lasts three or 43 years. Yet, no prenuptial agreement, however detailed, could pre-empt and accommodate all the possible changes in the life of a family on a timescale of decades.

 

“When viewed in that light, it would seem crucial for UHNW individuals to have postnuptial agreements that reflect the enormous variations in a marriage that can and do occur. Reviews are particularly important when there is a substantial change of circumstances, such as the birth of children and when one spouse receives substantial gifts or inheritance.

 

“Our experience is that while changes don’t necessary occur every time a postnuptial agreement is reviewed, the process produces positive outcomes.

 

“Regularly assessing postnuptial agreements assists couples in having constructive discussions and resolve disagreements in their marriage over issues such as finances, assets, children, etc. Reviews help them understand the changes in their financial position, and importantly, the ramifications of those changes.

 

“Another reason for regular reviews is to minimize potential court time should a marriage dissolve,” says Ms. Ku. She explains, “Court time is generally reduced for up-to-date agreements because they better reflect actual circumstances and are therefore more readily enforceable.

 

“Reviews also increase enforceability because each time the process ends in accord, the individuals involved demonstrate their continued commitment to the agreement while having had multiple, regular, opportunities to carefully consider their positions. “

 

Ms. Ku highlights that some lives are more complex than others and priorities change as children grow. She says, “In instances of second, third and subsequent marriages and multiple children with different spouses, a sequence of postnuptial agreements become vital for UHNW individuals in dealing strategically with that complexity.”

 

 

IMPORTANT NOTE

^ For a general overview of cross-border prenuptial agreements, please see Before the Wedding and Beyond Romance

 

* Ms. Ku is a Partner in Withersworldwide based in Hong Kong.

 

This interview note is general in nature based on Hong Kong law only and not in any way intended as legal advice.

Young handsome dad and pretty young mom carrying lovely little daughter who is holding a fancy wrapped Christmas gift while all smiling joyfully in front of the Christmas tree in a shopping mall

Case study: Solutions to safeguard a global family fortune

 

An ultra-high net worth individual (UHNWI), single and the 3rd generation heir of an extraordinary global family fortune, was looking for a future-orientated solution that includes pre-nuptial agreement considerations. A solution that would simultaneously, cohesively and comprehensively:

 

  • Preserve the family’s wealth for future generations
  • Provide generously for his future wife and children while significantly reducing the risks of any future litigation
  • Make provisions for future inheritors’ estate duties
  • Give him ongoing flexibility to make business and wider financial decisions in the short- to medium- term

 

Legal solution


Upon reviewing the client’s rights, exposures and strong preference for fairness to his future spouse, Rita Ku* from Withersworldwide recommended a pre-nuptial agreement within a structure of three specialized trusts:

1.       A trust to ring-fence the assets that will remain with his lineage, preserving the original family wealth

 

2.       A trust** to accumulate marital assets while providing a generous lifestyle for his future wife and children

 

(**Note: A trust is only one of numerous options. It is not always a good idea, or indeed, beneficial to set up a trust to hold family wealth. There might be little point in doing so when the couple shares all matrimonial assets. However, if the assets are substantial enough and one would like to protect future generations’ interests, as in this case, this trust option can be considered.)

 

3.       And a further trust structure^ to give the client unencumbered access to other assets, allowing him the versatility to make financial decisions as required

 

(^Again, like the above, the advice is specifically for one particular client’s circumstances. Generally, if flexibility is a priority, a trust might not be the best solution.)

 

Insurance solution

 

After considering the UHNW individual’s circumstances and needs, the personalized PCS by Mercer solution:  

 

  • A “Whole of Life” insurance policy with death benefits
  • A single trust is set up by the client
  • The trust acts as both policy holder and beneficiary
  • The trust then distributes to the wife and children according to the client’s wishes
  • Meets tax obligations in the territory of residence – Hong Kong in this instance
  • Solution is practicable irrespective of citizenship
  • Trust distribution can be used to manage estate taxes within the territory of residence

 

Key takeaways:

 

1.       Generous payout to the wife and children upon death while safeguarding the client’s family wealth from business risks and/or in the event of marriage breakdown

 

2.       Lump sum premium with payout ratio increasing from 200% of premium (at the time of policy set up) to 450% at age 90

 

  * Ms. Ku is an expert in family law and a renowned authority in wealth preservation for UHNW individuals.